Costume Creation

Somewhere during the past 11 years, my son became convinced that his mom could create any costume that he could possibly imagine. He has been a scuba diver, a werewolf, a hobo, a monkey, a swamp monster and a pop tart. There have been a handful of store bought costumes, but for the most part, I like to do it myself.

My daughter only ever wants to be a princess. She’s five. I will hold on to the princess thing as long as I can, because it’s easy. This year she will be joining the Elsa horde. I’m pretty sure that every girl under the age of 10 is going to be Elsa this year. Her costume is handmade, but by someone else.

On the other hand, there is my son. This year, he insisted that he wants to be Godzilla. I tried to get out of it. I know I’m going to procrastinate. I know that part way through the creation, I am going to want to quit. I know it’s going to be messy. It’s not the first year he has made this request, but he’s 11. I don’t expect him to be doing this for much longer. It’s time for my masterpiece.

So, we are in full on Godzilla costume mode at my house. And, he has expectations. He’s very particular about the details. You would think that the judges from Face Off will judging the community contest. The other day he asked me if it would possible to have fire come out of Godzilla’s mouth. Or at least put a fog machine in the monster’s mouth. I had to inform him that this is not a Hollywood special effects studio. Mom does have some limitations.

Mostly, this is a long way of saying, “Sorry I haven’t posted a new project yet!” But don’t worry! We’re documenting the costume process. Just in case you need to create your own Godzilla costume. (Don’t do it. Just say no.)

yarn costume

Now, if I had time, this is the costume I would make for myself. A skein of Red Heart yarn! Why the heck not?

Leave a Reply

