A Little Love

Rusty Avocados - Love Decor

How about one final project before Valentine’s Day? A little Valentine for yourself, perhaps? I’ll be adding this little piece to my Valentine’s Day decor. It coordinates perfectly with my vintage Valentine’s Day display!

Rusty Avocados - Love Decor (11)

I started out with these MDF letters from Michael’s, some pages from a dictionary, Mod Podge, and a sponge brush. I had thoughts of using the small clothespins to turn this into a photo holder, but changed my mind in the end.

Rusty Avocados - Love Decor (10)

My first step was to cut the dictionary pages into strips. They were each about 1 inch by 2 or 3 inches.

Rusty Avocados - Love Decor (13)

I applied Mod Podge to the letter and wrapped the dictionary strips around the letter. Then I painted over the paper with more Mod Podge. Keep overlapping and wrapping strips until the letter is completely covered. Then let the Mod Podge dry completely.

Rusty Avocados - Love Decor (12)

Rusty Avocados - Love Decor (4)

I wanted to give each letter a bit of extra definition, so I used gray fluid chalk ink along the edges of each letter.

It’s subtle, but I think it made a difference. You may want to choose a darker shade.

Rusty Avocados - Love Decor (7)

The next step is to glue the pieces together. Be sure to use a good strong glue. I used my Advanced Craft Glue, but I think a standard hot glue would have worked better, simply because it would dry faster. I glued V and E together first, connecting them at the top.

Then I added L and O to the top.

Rusty Avocados - Love Decor (3)

The final step was embellishing my letters with some red vintage buttons. I attached them with glue dots. The possibilities for embellishment are, of course, limitless. However you want to personalize it!

Lots more DIY projects at DIY Showoff

Leave a comment